top of page

ALL THE THINGS !


Hey there Lovely People! It's been a while and I have to apologize for going MIA last month. April was quite eventful. As an entrepreneur I have to acknowledge that even though Adorn Me Africa is no longer a one-woman-show we still have some ways to go in building the team that will allow me to be able to have more help in areas like this. We do however have 2 amazing team members that help out at our shop and an amazing content creator that is a genius with our social media feed.

With all that said if I am out of commission for any reason I don't yet have the bandwidth to pass this off to anyone else. The first 2 weeks in April I was home doing my first stint with Covid; which was quite the experience and then I was away for 3 weeks for travel to Ghana because my dear grandmother passed away. She was 89 and sharp as a tack and she lived in Ghana and was kept plenty busy by her 14 of 20 grandchildren who reside in Ghana. The last time I saw her lovely face was during my last trip in November and while I was there she did her usual, guilt trip about me intentionally do everything in my power to deprive her of great grandchildren (typical African grandmother stuff) but also giving her words of wisdom about not working too much and being there for family. I know that she lived a full life and shared in so many experiences that I'll never know about but I do know that she was happy and proud of her family. Whenever I think about her I see her smile and and laugh at my plans to pack her in my suitcase and take her with me.

All in all I feel like I am starting to get the hang of this newsletter thing. I really want it to stay authentic and not just a thrown together thing that we do to check a box. My hope is that I am sharing a little bit about myself and my journey as an entrepreneur and some of the fun and not so fun stuff that comes along wit


h that.

So if I can't be authentic and I have to take a little pause and reset not to worry, I will eventually come back and tell you a little bit about it : )












 

INTRODUCING SPICE OF LAGOS

One of our newest partner brands based in the capital city in Nigeria, Lagos. This beautiful Navy blazer dress is handcrafted and made with Adire cotton. " "Adire" or "Adire Eleko" refers to designs created by the application of starch paste made from cassava flour. This starch resists the dye from penetrating through the cloth. The starch is made of the flour mixed with water that is boiled and then strained.Yoruba people of southwestern Nigeria. The Yoruba label adire (meaning “tie and dye”) was first applied to indigo-dyed cloth decorated with resist patterns in the early twentieth century.




 

BELLO EDU





Bello Edu is a fashion brand designed for women to amplify esteem, purpose and a lust for life. Their brand mantra is to choose minimalism over excess, add value not mass and to be wherever function meets great aesthetics. Led by its founder and Creative Lead, Alima Bello and supported by a small workforce, the brand produces two major collections a year, which are responsibly manufactured in Ghana.

 

EVENTS




1. BAMS FEST - We're so excited to be attending and vending at Bams Fest 2022 taking place at Franklin Park this year with amazing headliners like The Black Alley Band, Chelsea Green, D Smoke, SWV and an equally incredible lineup of local artists! We hope to see you there, its going to be one for the books!



You heard it here first! Adorn Me Africa is co-hosting along with Bow Market our very first event this summer called AfroVybe! AfroVybe is a collective celebration of the beauty and diversity of African culture in our city and we want to invite you!


On July 22nd we will kick-off with a private ticketed mat-style dining experience in the courtyard at Bow Market featuring catered Ethiopian Cuisine, amazing wine pairings and the soulful sounds of the lovely Niuraza from Madagascar.

On Saturday July 23rd our day festival will begin at noon with a DJ setting the Vybe for the day, Henna artist Ardo will be taking appointments at the market, we'll enjoy music by a variety of local African artist and spoken word and poetry by Dzidzor, Poet and Educator. We are partnering with Nibble Kitchen to keep the Vybe going by featuring a West African cuisine pop-up with our friends at Suya Joint and photobooth by @ThaMoneyShot and even more fun to be announced on our Instagram page! Tickets for the seated dinner will be available for purchase June 1st and you'll want to book your slot for the henna artist asap as well so stay tuned and keep an eye on your email. You can also keep updated by following our IG page. We can't wait for you to join us for these Vybes!





HAPPY PRIDE!













9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page